Saskatoon Sports Hall of Fame

Saskatoon Field House, 2020 College Drive, (306) 664-6744

1966 Doug Wyatt Team

Curling (1997)

Canadian Fire Fighter's Curling Champions

Skip Doug Wyatt, third Archie Bartley **, second Bill Kerns and lead Stan Sieffert, all of Saskatoon, swept to their first Canadian Firefighters' curling championship in 1966.

The Wyatt team went through the modified double knockout Saskatchewan finals without a loss and then beat Dick Hollier of Saskatoon 7-4 in the A-B final. The Canadian finals were held at the Granite club and Wyatt started off the week in convincing fashion, scoring a seven-ender in one of his opening day games. Saskatchewan suffered its only loss, 7-6 on an extra end, to British Columbia in the third draw and then won four straight to win the championship with a record of five wins and one loss.

Among the key wins was a 14-7 decision over Ontario, skipped by a former Ontario Brier champion Murray Roberts, a 7-6 victory over Alberta's Dan Wasyliw and the closing 11-6 victory over Murray Humble of Manitoba.

For Bartley, it was a second Canadian title, having won as skip of a Saskatoon team in 1961. Wyatt and Bartley were voted all-stars at the Canadian finals.

** Deceased