Saskatoon Sports Hall of Fame

Saskatoon Field House, 2020 College Drive, (306) 664-6744

1953 Saskatoon Hilltops

Teams (1986)

Canadian Junior Football Champions

Playing in the newly established four-member Manitoba - Saskatchewan Junior Football League, the Hilltops defeated the Winnipeg Weston Wildcats in a two-game series, 35-4 and 21-1. The club won the Western title overpowering the Vancouver Blue Bombers 50-6. In the Canadian final held in Saskatoon, the Tops beat Windsor AKO 34-6.

This 1953 team was enshrined in the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame.

Front row: Walter Pusharenko, Bill Trout, Val Kononoff, Earl Gedir (Mascot), John Jasper, Carl Lucychyn, Chick Jacobi. Second row: Ed Wyman (Manager), Ron Tinkler (Coach), Bob Arn ** (Head Coach), Ray Syrnyk, Lorne Richardson (President), Brent Logan, John Babineau (Line Coach), Dr. Sam Landa ** (Club Physician), Dan Godley (Equipment Manager). Third row: Ken McMurtry, Rusty Chartier, Ted McKenzie, Chuck Boliantz, Johnny Kril **, Ernie Gulka, Larry Bretell, Ard Risdahl, Cliff Metcalfe, Audie Heier. Back row: Dick Clark, Bob Henley, Andy Voykin, Ron Adam, Ed Wright, Jules Rawlyk **, Olie Olstad, Don Park, Murray Pyke, Johnny Sands, Missing:Tom McClocklin

** Deceased